Karnataka cabinet expansion likely to take place on Jan 13, says CM Yediyurappa after meeting Amit Shah, Nadda


The much-awaited cabinet expansion in Karnataka will take place on January 13, stated Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa on Sunday, reported ANI. The Chief Minister additional stated that seven new members could also be inducted into the Cabinet. The state can have a complete of 34 ministers and has 27 now.

“The BJP high command has permitted to induct seven legislators in the cabinet. They will be sworn-in on January 13 afternoon, as there is ‘habba’ (Sankranti festival) on January 14,” Yediyurappa instructed information channels in Kannada on return from New Delhi.

He, nonetheless, didn’t disclose names of the legislators to be inducted within the cabinet expansion, as they’ve to be “finalised and confirmed”.

“The list of would-be ministers will be finalised tomorrow (Monday) for taking oath in the afternoon of January 13,” added the Chief Minister.

In the 34-member ministry, seven posts are vacant to be stuffed within the third cabinet expansion.

During his day-long go to to the nationwide capital on Sunday, Yediyurappa met the ruling BJP’s nationwide management, together with Union Home Minister Amit Shah, get together’s nationwide president JP Nadda and get together’s Karnataka unit in-charge Arun Singh.

The chief minister had earlier steered some names and expressed confidence that the central BJP management will reply positively.

Apart from the cabinet expansion, the chief minister additionally held discussions on the upcoming by-polls within the state for one parliamentary and two Assembly seats.

Earlier talking to reporters in New Delhi after meeting Nadda and Shah, Yediyurappa stated that he would give excellent news quickly. “On cabinet expansion, there was a detailed discussion. You will get good news soon,” the chief minister instructed reporters after an hour-long meeting held at Shah’s residence in Delhi.

Asked if he’s assured about finishing his tenure as chief minister, Yediyurappa replied, “It is a question which only you can answer.”

The cabinet was expanded for the second time on February 6, 2020 when 10 legislators, who defected from Congress and JD-S had been inducted after they gained within the December 5, 2019 by-elections, attributable to their resignations in July 2019, which led to the autumn of the 14-month JD-S-Congress coalition authorities on July 23, 2019 and return of the BJP authorities on July 26, 2019.

The first cabinet expansion, through which 17 ministers had been inducted, took place on August 20, 2019.

Yediyurappa was sworn-in as BJP Chief Minister for the third time on July 26, 2019.

(With wire inputs)

News Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *